MUCAR 892BT Pro

Kingbolen vs MUCAR and THINKCAR: Updates and Security Gateway Compared

Diagnostic tool guide
Kingbolen vs MUCAR and THINKCAR: Updates and Security Gateway Compared

Kingbolen, MUCAR and THINKCAR all make Bluetooth scan tools with CAN FD and DoIP. The differences show up mainly in the update model and in the security gateway access each manufacturer lists. We put the manufacturer data (as of 10/2026) side by side – without judging any brand.

MUCAR 892BT Pro
MUCAR 892BT Pro
THINKCAR THINKSCAN 689BT Pro
THINKSCAN 689BT Pro
FCAAutoAuth on every tool listed
2 yearsfree updates on the Kingbolen K10 Pro
Lifetimeper manufacturer for MUCAR, THINKSCAN, K8 Pro, Ediag Elite
€0update subscription on MUCAR and THINKSCAN 689BT Pro

Key points first

  • ⌘
    UpdatesMUCAR and THINKCAR state lifetime free updates. Kingbolen states 2 years for the K10 Pro, then a renewal at $399.99 per year; the K8 Pro, Ediag Elite and S608 are advertised with lifetime updates.
  • ⇄
    FCA AutoAuthevery manufacturer lists FCA access via AutoAuth. The AutoAuth account is always purchased separately.
  • ✦
    Other gatewaysKingbolen lists Renault SGW for the K10 (manual: 2019+) and for the S608 (paid). THINKCAR UK lists Mercedes SGW for the 689BT series.
⚖

Updates ≠ unlocks

Lifetime software updates and gateway unlocks are two different things. Accounts such as AutoAuth or tokens for individual brands usually cost extra – regardless of the scan tool brand.

Comparison table

FeatureMUCAR 892BT ProAt ml24shopTHINKSCAN 689BT ProAt ml24shopKingbolen K10 ProKingbolen K8 Pro / Ediag Elite
Software updatesLifetime free (manufacturer)Lifetime free (manufacturer)2 years free, then $399.99/yearLifetime free (manufacturer)
Mercedes SGW✓Yes, with add-on license – get license✓Yes, with add-on license – get licensenot stated by manufacturernot stated by manufacturer
VAG SFD✓Yes, with add-on license – get license✓Yes, with add-on license – get licensenot stated by manufacturernot stated by manufacturer
Renault/Dacia (Token)✓Yes, with add-on license (license on request)✓Yes, with add-on license – get license✓2019+not stated by manufacturer
FCA (AutoAuth)✓Yes, with add-on license – get license✓Yes, with add-on license (license on request)✓AutoAuth (account separate)✓AutoAuth (account separate)
CAN FD / DoIP✓✓✓✓
Price€699.00€699.90959.99 USD499.99 / 109.99 USD
Where to buyView productView productkingbolen.comkingbolen.com

* Manufacturer data from their websites and manuals, as of October 2026. “Not stated by manufacturer” means not listed on the manufacturer's pages – not that it is impossible. Kingbolen prices per kingbolen.com (USD); our prices as of Oct 20, 2026. Coverage depends on vehicle, module, region and software version. Gateway access for MUCAR and THINKSCAN: with a separately available license (per ml24shop/MittmannLive, Oct 20, 2026); vehicle coverage varies by model and year.

What this means for your purchase

If you want to use a scan tool for many years without running costs, check the update model: according to Kingbolen, the K10 Pro keeps working on the last version after 2 years; new vehicles and functions only come with a renewal. Tools with lifetime updates do not have this cost. For gateways: before buying, check which brands you need to unlock and which accounts or licenses the manufacturer names for that.

Which scan tool fits?

If you want topology mapping, J2534 and lifetime updates in one tablet, compare the MUCAR 892BT Pro and the THINKSCAN 689BT Pro – details in our comparison of the two Pro tablets. We are happy to check the function you need against your VIN.

MUCAR 892BT Pro

MUCAR 892BT Pro

View 892BT Pro
THINKCAR THINKSCAN 689BT Pro

THINKSCAN 689BT Pro

View 689BT Pro

FAQ

Does Kingbolen support the FCA security gateway?

Yes, via AutoAuth according to Kingbolen. The AutoAuth account is purchased separately – as with MUCAR and THINKCAR.

How much do Kingbolen K10 updates cost after 2 years?

Kingbolen offers a renewal at $399.99 per year (as of 10/2026). Without renewal, the tool keeps working on the last installed version.

Does Kingbolen support Mercedes SGW or VAG SFD2?

Kingbolen's own pages do not state this (as of 10/2026). FCA and Renault are listed.

Are lifetime updates the same as gateway unlocks?

No. Updates cover the tool's software; gateway access usually requires separate accounts or licenses that cost extra.

Do MUCAR / THINKSCAN support Mercedes SGW, VAG SFD, Renault/Dacia and FCA?

Yes, with a separately available license (per ml24shop/MittmannLive, Oct 20, 2026): Mercedes SGW, VAG SFD, Renault/Dacia via tokens and the FCA group via AutoAuth. Vehicle coverage depends on model and year – please have it checked against your VIN first.

Back to blog